h1

Inkigayo Performance Round-Up

September 6, 2009

I’m going to start with f(x) since they’re the rookies here and this is our first opportunity to see them on stage together.

Credit: SmoothyEco1st

So I watched both of their performances, the MuCore one as well as this one and I have to conclude that this is definitely the better one. I guess they relaxed a little because you could see that they enjoyed this one more and their vocals were a lot better here. As far as vocals are concerned, they’re not bad – they seem to have a good foundation and I don’t sense any actually weak singers in the group so that’s a plus. If you watched their first teaser, you probably saw the ‘Asia best pop dance group’ label or whatever at the end of it and I have to say that I can see the focus on dancing here. Their choreography may look easy but it really isn’t, by any means and all of the girls seem to be fairly adept dancers, Luna in particular. Seriously, watch that girl (the one in all black in case you didn’t know) while she’s dancing and you’ll see the concentration and determination on her face – she is a serious dancer, I can see that already.

Yeah, so their dancing is pretty good – I love their choreo for ‘Lachata‘, I really do – it’s just so fun and cool-looking, I really want to learn it and I already told you that I love the song. The girls themselves seem all right on stage – they work well as a group, although you can see that they’re not fully in synch yet but that’s okay considering they’re just starting out and all. Now I know it might seem like I’m being overly critical and maybe I am but it’s just because I’m rather fond of the majority of the talent that SM produces, I think that all of their groups do very well for themselves and I expect these girls to follow suit. I just have high expectations for them, that’s all. So I am being critical but it’s just because I want to see them do well, you know, I want them to come out good and then steadily improve and so far, they’re not doing too badly in that respect.

As for the girls themselves, Luna’s already impressed me with how serious and committed she is while they’re performing and Sulli (the young looking one with the bun-like hairstyle) caught my attention because she’s adorable and she reminds me of all of the previous maknaes that I’ve been fond of. As far as I’m concerned, she’s the maknae in the group because she seems to be acting the part way more than Krystal anyway. Speaking of Krystal (pink and blue shirt), she seems okay so far – her voice is decent and she’s a pretty good dancer so I have faith in her. I was really looking forward to seeing the leader, Victoria (the girl in the dress) but she hasn’t exactly impressed me so far – she seems competent in terms of performing but she isn’t as charismatic as I expected her to be and so the jury’s still out as far as she’s concerned. She did get some cool points after I saw a really cute fancam of the girls leaving their fanmeeting after MuCore where she made a heart for the fans. I was like “aww~ that’s so cute!” so I guess she’s all right. And well, Amber seems okay. I don’t really have an opinion on her yet.

So f(x) seem cool so far, they look like they’ll do well – I’m very interested in hearing the rest of their tracks – is there any word on when their mini album or album or whatever is being released? – and I’m also very interested in hearing more from Luna and seeing what little Sulli’s individual talents are.

Moving on, I’ll get to another rookie group, 4minute with their new song, ‘Muzik‘.

Credit: CodeMonmonSeason3

Let me start by saying that I really like this song, maybe more than ‘Hot Issue’, I’m not sure yet. It’s just really fun and makes me want to get up and dance – and I always appreciate when a song can do that – I definitely see some improvement on their end, I used to find their ‘Hot Issue’ performances tremendously boring but they have a lot more energy here and their choreo is cooler so I’m already liking these performances more. I still don’t think I’ll be watching too many of these performances because two of the members, the leader and the maknae ( I think) – yeah, I’m sorry to say this but their vocals leave a lot to be desired…they don’t sound so bad on the track but they go over a lot worse live. In addition to that, I’m not too fond of Hyuna’s voice in general so that really puts me off but I will say that generally, this performance was good. They sounded okay,  their clothes were decent (I’m loving those boots!) and their dancing wasn’t bad so it was okay, really.

Next up is 2NE1 with their new single, ‘Pretty Boy’.

Credit: CodeMonmonSeason3

Now I really like this song, for much the same reasons that I like 4minute’s new song – it’s very cool and fun to listen to. I actually think that this would have been a better follow-up to ‘Fire’ than ‘I Don’t Care’ because it would have showed a different side to them while still maintaining the momentum created by starting out with a song as upbeat as ‘Fire’ – but I digress….I have to commend them for being able to dance in those ridiculous boots (did you see those things?! Dang! I couldn’t take one step in those!) and well, the dancing is how it always is. Hmm, I think that they had less energy in this performance than they usually do but despite that, it was very solid. They sounded very good, they looked good (in those possibly ‘Heartbreaker‘-inspired outfits?) and well, that’s all that really matters, right? As always, I feel that they kind of went overboard with the dancing – I really don’t need to see anyone writhing around on the floor, thanks – this is particularly in Minzy’s case, I don’t know if maybe the dancing doesn’t seem sexualized to her but it comes across that way in a lot of other people’s minds and I can’t help feeling that she’s just way too young to be doing that kind of thing. Leave that kind of thing to Hyori, Minzy!

Now this right here is the G-Dragon I am used to – totally fierce and cool and in control. It was nice seeing GD not looking so nervous and unsure of himself. I think he did a great job – this was a very good performance. I love the choreo for his song which is a rarity for me when it comes to YG artists, I’m not gonna lie – I love his colour scheme, I just love everything – it’s just really cool and different and innovative and even though I wasn’t all that impressed with his album when I first listened to it, the more I listen to it, the more I like it. It’s very easy on the ears. In addition to that, he won Take 7 this week so good for him. You deserve it, GD – you did well!

Well, I don’t really feel like talking about the other performers but I’ll give Miss Baek JiYoung a shout-out just because I loooooove her song – this would totally be my jam if I lived in Korea and went to clubs – and her performances are always very good – she has such a nice voice~ Also I like to watch them and laugh at how young Taecyeon looks next to her. 😄

And in related news, my favourite female duo, Davichi is performing again! Yay! Cheer, you guys, cheer – this is fantastic! Here’s their latest Music Bank performance – they’re only performing their OST song for ‘My Fair Lady’ or ‘Take Care of the Young Lady’ as MySoju is calling it since they already have a Korean series with the same title but I don’t really care because those girls are performing again and that makes me very happy.

Credit: alllllllight (or something to that effect)

The performance was good – they sound fantastic, as usual, although I think Minkyung might have had a little bit of trouble this time around. That’s okay though – they haven’t been performing this song for very long anyway. Honestly I’ve only listened to this song once and I’m not all that fond of it but you should still check out their performances because they are wonderful singers and will never disappoint you by delivering a sub-par performance. So watch it, okay? Good!

And since you’ve made it all the way down to the end of this post – I think this is the longest post I’ve written in awhile, looks like I might be getting back into the swing of blogging, hmm? – I will reward you by sharing a bonus video! It’s the audio of Luna from f(x)’s solo performance from their showcase. She sang ‘And I Am Telling You’ from Dreamgirls and don’t worry – it’s very good quality. I have to say that listening to this, I was even further impressed by this girl – she has a really nice voice and I think she did very well on this song despite the fact that her voice doesn’t have the strength of the original singer’s, I feel like she managed to make it sound really good even with her less powerful vocals. And there’s something to be said about her English pronunciation – it was a lot better than a lot of other people’s and it was nice to be able to listen to someone sing an English song without being distracted by their mis-pronunciation of key words. Really, this kid has a ton of potential and I can’t wait to see more of her.

Well, that’s all for now. Lacha, lacha – ta ta!

Maki

Leave a Reply

