h1

Concerning F(x), IU, etc…

September 1, 2009

So I really like this song. I’ve had it on repeat for most of tonight.

Credit: 919urnobody919

Honestly when I heard the first teaser, I wasn’t impressed – I didn’t like the sound of it at all. But now that I’ve heard the entire thing, I think it’s pretty good. Pretty and fun and melodic and easy to follow, the dance looks interesting enough and most of all, it’s not just ‘catchy’ or overly repetitive like the last few hit songs from SME have been. Mind you, I liked those songs but you know that kind of thing gets old fast so this is a nice change. Here’s their new MV teaser for those of you who haven’t yet seen it – it looks nice enough, the car is really cute:

Credit: urasiansourceKpop

Also just wanted to post this cute fancam I came across of IU and Eunhyuk performing MC Mong and Lyn’s ‘Run To You’.

Credit: pri3an

I know it’s a bit old now but I felt bad about not posting anything new about IU in awhile considering I’m supposed to be trying to pimp her out a bit more and what with her one year anniversary coming up in just a few weeks. Speaking of, if you want to get more info about her, definitely hit up her new international forum, WeHeartIU! She also happens to be Soompi’s Artist of the Week this week so make sure to check out the article! Anyway, she and EunHyuk both sound really great here and I feel like you can really tell Hyuk is fond of her from watching this. I don’t know if I’ve said this before but it makes me really happy to know that she’s got someone like him looking out for her. He’s a really good guy, EunHyuk and I don’t think he’d steer her wrong.

In addition, I heard that she got a regular spot on one of EunTeuk’s Sukira broadcasts so that’s also really good news – I’m sure that will be very good exposure for her and since she’s been on the show a few times already, it should already be a fairly comfortable environment for her. Anyway she’s going to be their first regular guest on a live request segment of their broadcast where listeners can call in and ask her to sing certain songs for them. Considering how she’s becoming known for her excellent acoustic covers of popular songs, I’m really not surprised to hear that she was chosen to do this. I’m extremely happy for her and I hope it turns out well. And in case you don’t know about her lovely covers, here are a few – the ‘Lies’ one is my favourite, by the way:

Credit: Alysoche

Enjoy!

Maki

4 comments

  1. Actually, I thought the opposite; I liked the teaser better than the full song. I guess I’ll like the song better once I see the MV… or maybe I just need to put it on repeat a couple more times because I’m starting to catch myself humming some parts of the song. xD But I agree with you — this song seems to have a different “flavor,” which I find refreshing from all the other popular songs right now.

    Guuuh, I still can’t believe I’m saying this, but I can’t wait for their debut! I’m not extremely fond of girl groups, so I suppose it’s my SM bias talking. 8D

    And I still can’t wrap my mind around how new singers are getting younger and younger. D:

    Anyway, how was your vacation? I’m a bit busy myself now that school has started… I’m still stuck in summer break mode. I miss talking to you~


    • I think it’s that way for a lot of people actually – listening to it again, I realize that the teaser used a more rock-fueled sound for the song and the finished product is much lighter and more pop-like so I guess I can see why so many people are feeling disappointed. Strangely, I feel like I can appreciate the sound of the teaser more now that I’ve heard the whole thing.

      That said, I wouldn’t worry about it too much if I were you – I think that this is the kind of song that grows on you. Honestly I felt kind of indifferent towards it on the first listen but after replaying it a few times, I suddenly found myself bouncing along in my seat to it. And you’re right – it does get stuck in your head, especially the chorus. XD

      I’m not extremely fond of girl groups, so I suppose it’s my SM bias talking.
      Ah, that just means you were waiting for the right girl group to come along and catch your attention. ;D But SM biases are pretty strong though – I mean, I wasn’t too keen on them after those teasers and yet I still went out of my way to find out info about it – just because they’re the new SM girl group and I always expect good things from SM.

      I know! My friends and I were gawking at Krystal and Sul Li like these kids are FOURTEEN?! That’s crazy. The next thing you know they’ll be debuting them while they’re still in primary school.

      Ah, my vacation was good – I tried some new things (mostly food, didn’t really like them XD ) and I visited some new places. I’m sorry, I didn’t get a chance to send you a postcard like I said I would but when I got there, I realized that I’d left your address at home. My bad. >.< Also I went to a Jonas Brothers concert and I got a picture with the Wonder Girls so that was really fun, my first k-pop encounter! Overall, I had a good time. 🙂

      I can imagine – you're taking SATs this year, right? It's a lot of work but it really pays off in the end. And don't worry, you'll slip back into regular school mode in no time. Just remember – PROCRASTINATION IS BAD! That was my downfall in high school so I feel obliged to warn you against it. But you're a smart girl so I know you'll do well. Fighting! Ganbatte! Jia you! Unni’s rooting for you.

      Aww, I miss talking to you too~ I don't really use Plurk anymore – but do you have Twitter? I'm on that a lot more these days. *jumped on the bandwagon* Or you could always add me on LJ – I actually try to update these days. ^_^


  2. hey yumi, jong-kei’ here.
    Glad to see ur back up and running (i’ve been checking u kno ^_^). Loving this post btw, learnt a lot from it. For example I didn’t realise f(x) released the entire song, now it’s just for the full mv. I must say i love this song and the moves so far look cute. The rap at the end was a surprise for me but it sounds good (*cough*femaleMinHo*cough*)Lacha-Lacha-Ta-Ta…
    Also, for me HyukJae was always a secondary Chul, i could never take him seriously because of the contexts in which i always saw him. So now for the first time i am seeing him in his elemental glory and wow! Kill me dead i was watching a rapping Kim JongHyun!!! Seriously!!!!!! Two thumbs up oppa! (i ❤ the snapshots of him and IU, they look cute together, new fav couple ^_^)….
    …..But omg! o…..m……ggggggggggg! Yumi, the last post – if you didn't recruit IU fans before, you recruited them now. Consider me your latest! ^_^ SHe's a-mazing, how old is she again? like 15? Those covers were brilliant! At times i was like 'How is she gonna sing THAT song… with THAT guitar?!' ANd she murdered everytime! (no need to tell that to the MC dude right? LOL! Omg he was like this – *drops jaw and drools* LOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!) But yeah, i totally see how 'Lies' is yout fav – that was just clever. wow. Standing ovation IU, standing ovation….


  3. Yo chica, me again (was experimenting w/ my name up there). Forgot to check the ‘Notify me..’ box so posting another comment…



Leave a Reply

