h1

It’s a Brand New Day…

January 9, 2009

So these days, I’m trying to broaden my musical horizons – there are tons of great artists out there and I don’t want to miss out on some of them because I’m too busy listening to the same songs over and over again (hello SHINee~) and since the only female Korean artists I listen to in a big way are the Wonder Girls (and really not even them so much), I figure I should check out some other people too (feel free to suggest, by the way).

So given this quest, when I heard there was a new girl group debuting, instead of cringing like some people and grumbling about there being another one, I figured I’d give them a try. So today I watched Brand New Day’s MV for ‘Livable’ for the first time. And surprisingly, I really liked it.

Well, honestly I didn’t like the MV itself that much but I really like the song. It’s not the kind of song I’m used to listening to but that’s kind of the point. It’s not exactly catchy from the get-go but once it gets to the chorus, it picks up a lot and gets to be really infectious. And it helps that the three members are all quite capable vocalists. It’s strange – I hear people saying that this song doesn’t really do their voices justice but I disagree – I think it’s a really solid debut song, it’s just catchy enough to stay in your mind without becoming a nuisance and it allows you to get enough of a sense of their ample vocal ability to want to check them out further. At least, that’s what happened to me.

So onto the actual video….so it’s about a girl who’s happily dating some guy and then she finds out that he’s cheating on her so they break up and she gets depressed – but then she sees Brand New Day on tv and she remembers that she has their magazine/catalogue so she goes and finds it and of course, there’s an article about how to get over a break-up. She uses the article, starts to get her stride back and as she finally leaves her house after however many days to meet up with her friends, who does she see but THE EX! And with his new girlfriend, no less. They pass each other and you think she’s just going to walk away but instead she gets some spunk and comes back and gives him a slap to make up for what he did to her. (Make sure to look at the other girl’s face at that point – she looks so shocked! Now you know he’s got some ‘splaining to do…) Anyway, brava, chica, brava. Overall, the MV really wasn’t bad – I love the lighting they used in the video for some reason, although the actress’s hair kept distracting me because it made her look so much like the main singer of U-Kiss (Sorry, I don’t remember his name).

Listening to the song, I wouldn’t have guessed that’s what it was about so I’m glad for an MV with a plot showing that. It actually reminds me a lot of Davichi’s Love and War video – watch it if you haven’t, it’s hilarious! – and in a similar way, shots of the actual group members are spliced in between the scenes with the plot. The members themselves are quite pretty and I really like their outfits – I’m a sucker for well-layered black and white – and although I feel that the dancing in the video is a bit awkward at times, it’s not bad. So overall, I like this song – definitely suggest you give them a try. I’m checking out their mini-album, ‘Lady Garden’ (definitely could do better as far as titles go) now, courtesy this playlist on imeem and while I’m not sold on it yet, they really do have impressive vocals and I like that they tackle different musical styles in their songs. I’m particularly fond of the last two techno sounding tracks – they’re really nice and I was surprised to see how well they managed to pull off that kind of sound. The only thing is that I don’t know why but I just get a japanese vibe from their music – I think it’s because some of their songs sound so much like the kind of songs they use as anime theme songs. But that’s not really a bad thing – and coincidentally, the one who I assume is the lead singer – the one with the long hair – reminds me so much of Jonghyun because of the way she sings. They both have these really powerful voices that practically knock you down from the force of their singing and they also seem to have similar singing styles to me but I can’t be sure because I’m not a singer or a musician so I’m not really attuned to that sort of thing.

So anyway, I recommend checking them out – don’t write them off as ‘just another girl group’, okay? I think they’re worth checking out so please do! Here’s a picture…

20090102_brandnewday_2There they are – that’s Brand New Day, members are Kim Su Ji (20), Kim Su Jin (19) and Lee Su Jin (20) (from left to right). Yes, they all have the same name – I’m not sure what that’s about but I’m sure it’ll make sense soon or that I’ll just get used to it. I’m looking forward to see what happens with them, although it’s difficult to find info on them at the moment. Still I’m sure if I putter around, I’ll find something.

Maki

Oh, and on a totally unrelated note, if you’re looking for a laugh, I suggest checking out Epik High singing DBSK’s Mirotic in honour of Mithra Jin’s birthday! It is, like all of their renditions of other’s songs, epikly humourous and throughout it all, the man of honour looks like he wants to be anywhere but in that room. 😄 So watch! And saengil chukhae, Mithra Jin!

3 comments

  1. The song is decent but I’m going to have to listen to it a few times before i know what i think of the group, If your looking for really good korean music then i suggest you listen to hot potato’s song rain and tears, the band is a bit underground but you might know the lead singer, his name is kim c and he is a mc on 2day1night on kbs. The song is so good and there other stuff is awsome too, plus they are much different then shinee so it’s something totally new 🙂


  2. Hmm, sorry, I don’t watch 1 Day 2 Nights but I’ve heard of it – thanks for the rec. I’ll definitely check it out and let you know what I think.


  3. cool 🙂



Leave a Reply

