h1

A name I call myself…

November 29, 2008

Random post time!

So you know it really annoys me when I see people say negative things towards certain K-pop fans just because they call themselves by their favourite group/artist’s official fanclub name. I see people say things like “you’re so silly/delusional/dumb calling yourself a VIP/Cassie/E.L.F., etc. when you’re not even Korean” and I think that that’s a really silly response. I mean, I understand that these titles were created for the official fan clubs of the groups/artists to use and so it’s perfectly fine if you, as an international fan, choose not to refer to yourself that way but ultimately I don’t think there’s anything wrong with an international fan calling him/herself by that name because in the end, we’re still fans and because we unfortunately don’t have the luxury of being able to be a part of that group or person’s official fan club, calling ourselves by the official fan club name allows us to feel a little bit closer to that artist/group and to the other fans as well. I mean, when the Wonder Girls say that they love all of the Wonderfuls out there, I think that they’re talking about all of their fans, respective of location and when you’ve got an official title for your fans, it just makes it easier for you to talk to them. I’m sure it means more to hear Big Bang thank the VIPs instead of just their fans – it’s the same thing, yes, but there’s a different feel to it when they use the official name, IMO. I can tell you that as a SHINee fan, whenever I hear Onew stick in a ‘SHINee World, saranghamnida!’ into an interview or something, I feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It means something to hear that, you know and I would never think “Oh well, he’s not talking to me because I’m not really a part of SHINee World”. The point is I’m a fan and I support them and that’s what matters. Ah, but that is just my humble opinion. Feel free to disagree.

Maki

2 comments

  1. ….Maybe some people like being elitist?

    But lol, yes, the love and support is all that matters! 8D♥


  2. Hmm, I didn’t think of that. You might very well have a point.

    Glad you agree. ^^ Thanks for commenting, bb!



Leave a Reply

