h1

Oldies but Goodies

November 7, 2008

So a friend of mine recently got into SHINee and she asked me to send her some videos of them to help her get better acquainted with the group – lol, I’m her SHINee source, ooh – and as I wracked my brain and searched through my YT favourites list for stuff, I came across some videos that I’d like to share with her and with you. So I suppose this is a pimp post of sorts and you can consider it a prelude to the ULTIMATE SHINee REC PAGE that I’ll be creating in the future. So without further ado, here they are:

In My Room Performance at Madam B’s Salon

So this was actually the very first time that I heard ‘In My Room’ – my other RL SHINee friend had been pestering me to listen to it and finally she ended up linking me to a performance – not this one actually, another but I saw this one in the related videos bar and it had subs so I decided to watch this one instead. When I finally saw it, I wanted to hit myself for not watching it sooner. I’ve never said this about any other performance in my life but I actually think that this sounds even better than the studio version. The boys sound amazing and the closed, intimate atmosphere of the venue as well as the setup of the stage really adds to the feel of the song. You can see the emotion in the boys’ faces, you can hear it in their voices and you can see the attention on the audience’s faces. This is the performance that really made me realize how well those boys can sing and I think everyone should watch it, whether you like the song, the group or not. Oh, and they’re all wearing suits which is, you know, a big plus. M!Countdown cameramen, you could take a lesson from these people – they really understand when to close up and when to pan out.

Run It Performance at SMTOWN Live concert in Korea

This is another video that my friend recommended to me that I took forever to watch. I actually didn’t check it out until I’d gotten really interested in SHINee and I came across it one day while roaming around on Youtube looking for SHINee vids. Well I tell you – if I wanted to hit myself before, I wanted to kick myself this time. This performance is amazing – the dancing is crazy hot and it’s really not like anything you’ve seen them do before. (I was actually hoping the Amigo routine would be more like this one but it’s no big because the Amigo choreo is love all on its’ own). There’s actually not much singing here, it’s obviously meant to show off their dance skills (which it did!) and only Jonghyun and Onew sing the one slow part of the song (you know the bridge-y part in the middle) and while they both sound good, Onew’s (one) line really stood out the most to me – maybe because his pronunciation was practically perfect? Hyunnie dear, I love you but your English still need some work, okay? (Although it has improved a good bit since then.) Ah, but the stars of this performance are Taemin and Key – Key has a dance solo! – dude, their part of the dance was just fantastic. I was just staring at my computer screen in awe like “Whaaaat? I did not know you could do that!” So the lesson here is don’t be like me – if someone tells you to check something out, by all means do it.

Subbed ‘Onew Condition’ Compilation

Okay, now this video was made before all of those super funny, Onew sangtae filled episodes of Yunhanam came out so it isn’t particularly extensive but it’s still a good video to watch if you like Dubu or more so, if you don’t and you want to. Everything he does is suuuuuuuper adorable and you get about a lifetime’s worth of glimpses of his infectious smile. Gosh, I heart this boy and his dorktastic self so much! A lot of the clips come from the period when Onew and Jonghyun were co-hosting a radio show – I don’t know much about it, tbh. Anyway, my favourite part is the little interaction between him and Jonghyun where he’s smiling all bubbly-like at JH and JH is just like staring him down all stone-faced like “What are you so happy about?” and then Onew’s face just – falls. It’s really funny! Although I’m thinking now maybe it shouldn’t be…

SHINee Yunhanam BTS 13 – Warning: fangirling ahead.

So if you’ve ever wondered why Key is called the umma (or mother) of the group (Taemin in particular), then this video’s for you. It is just about the sweetest I’ve ever seen the two of them, especially now that Taemin keeps talking back to his umma. ROFL! And I wasn’t even planning to watch it! I just ended up watching it because I was bored – ah, boredom leads to so many SHINee discoveries, no? Anyway, it’s footage from episode 6 (with the model noona – you remember her?) and it starts off with Taemin adding foil to Key’s foil mic (contrary to popular belief, Taemin did not actually make the mic for Key, he just made it bigger) and then Key comes in chewing something and tells him (sounding for all the world like an older brother) “didn’t I tell you not to touch my stuff?” Taemin, obviously unperturbed, continues what he’s doing and replies that he’s ‘feeding’ it. Key, who couldn’t have really been that upset, then switches immediately to ‘umma mode’, sits down and takes out a small piece of candy which he then offers to Taemin who says “Nae~” in the cutest way possible. Key then proceeds to un-wrap the candy and feed it to Taemin in the greatest show of adorableness that I’ve ever seen in my life. I nearly died – it was so cute! I sent it to my friend and we fangirled about it for like a day – seriously. And the sad thing is that I know that it’s my fangirl self that’s making me react this way because that’s not so unusual – I’ve re-enacted similar scenes with my friends but because it’s SHINee, it’s just way more endearing. Key and Taemin did it so it’s the best thing on the planet. Aigoo, I’m sad, no? But what can I do? I’m like putty in their hands.

Love Should Go On Performance on Tablo’s Dreaming Radio

So if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, it should be obvious that I really like the track ‘Love Should Go On’ (which is ironic considering the fact that I didn’t like it at all when I first heard it). Anyway, a little while ago, I went roaming around Youtube (I do that a lot) in search of LSGO performances by the boys, mainly because I wanted to see Key do his rap and a lot of the videos I found were fancams, none of which were on Key at that point. I was finally satisfied when I found this video – the performance, as most of their radio show performances are, was solid and I was able to actually see Key, Taemin and MinHo during the rap part. But honestly the best part of this video is when Tablo comes up behind SHINee sometime during the second verse and starts dancing (out of time with the music). It was really unexpected and I nearly fell out of my seat laughing. I sent it to my friend, who’s not really acquainted with the members of Epik High, and she said “OMG! Did you see when that crazy man came up behind the boys during the performance and started dancing?” I couldn’t help laughing – I had to tell her that ‘that crazy man’ was Tablo from Epik High and the host of the radio show. So this one you’re not just watching for SHINee, you’re watching it for Tablo as well.

MinHo covering the song ‘Psychedelic Forest’ on the radio

You know it’s funny – the first time I watched this video, I wasn’t at all impressed. I thought the song didn’t flow and it seemed like MinHo was rapping against the beat of the music instead of with it but then, a few weeks later, I went back and checked it out and it was like I was hearing it for the first time. So if you don’t like this the first time you hear it, give it another chance because it’s actually very cool. One of the things I love about MinHo is the way his personality seems to change completely when he’s rapping – the shyness is gone and it’s replaced by this really fierce, cool person. I remember when I first started watching SHINee’s performances, when it was time for MinHo to rap, I’d be like “Who is that?! And where did Minho go?!” It was like he was a completely different person! My reaction isn’t quite as strong now that I’ve seen more of what he’s like but there is still a distinctive shift – I think that’s really cool, no? Now I finally get what entertainers mean when they say that they have stage alter-egos. Anyway…I now really like this performance, sometimes I just put it on and listen to it when I’m surfing the net. You can tell from his expression that he really enjoys what he’s doing and his rapping is so smooth and his voice! There’s a little mistake towards the end but that just makes it more endearing to me, especially when you see how he reacts to it. So watch – it’s like a minute and a half, it won’t hurt you any.

Love’s Way Performance on SHIMSHIMTAPA radio

Now until I get to see a full length, proper performance of this song – no fancams, no short cuts (like in School Attack) – I will be citing this performance. This song is my favourite SHINee song ever, in fact, it’s in the running to be my favourite song ever. I listen to it every single day and I don’t care that it’s a remake or sampled or whatever. I honestly wish people would stop getting on SHINee (and other people’s) cases for making remakes and just enjoy the songs produced. (But I suppose that’s easy for me to say considering I don’t usually know any of the songs they sampled.) Anyway I really like this performance – it’s not the best, I know the boys could do a lot better – but it’s a performance of my favourite song! And it was the first time they performed it live so excuse me if I’m inclined to love it. Anyway, the important thing is that the harmony is on point and in this song, the harmony’s the best part. I mean, they harmonize well in all of their songs, sure, but in this song, it’s just on another level. Ah, I could write a whole post about this song (I’ve been planning to) but I’ll stop here for now. Oh! And this is the video that made me realize how cute Key is – right after he sang his lines in the second verse, he smiled and it was like someone had slapped me. I was like “WOW. Key’s really cute. Like really, really cute. How come I never noticed this before?” So watch the video, okay? Watch it, do it, do it, do it noooooooooow.

And since I’m all for mixing the old with the new (but not too much), here’s the boys’ most recent Amigo performance on M!Countdown:

Let me say first of all that I’m sure that this cameraman has a Taemin bias. Dude! Taemin got like a million close-ups, in this performance and the last one – it’s like whenever they don’t know who to shoot, they just go straight to Taemin. Aish, if you don’t know who to look at, call the Inkigayo cameramen and they can tell you! (Inkigayo cameramen shoot these performances perfectly – seriously.) I’m sorry for the mini-rant – it’s just that during their first performance there, the camera was on Taemin instead of Jonghyun during his high note and I was like “Aaaaaghhhhh!!! Cameraman!!! I want to beat you!” and I’m obviously still a little touchy about that. He only gets away this time because they panned out so I could at least see Jonghyun even if it wasn’t a close-up shot.

Anyway on to the actual performance, it was really good! The boys are already improving. The dancing is very good and the singing is starting to get to a good consistent level. They must be working very hard because I can hear the improvement in everyone, particularly Taemin. Now when he’s singing, it really sounds like singing and not shouting (I know it sounds like I’m bashing Taeminnie but I’m really not, I promise. Don’t you know by now that I love maknae?) So this was a good performance, very solid – although I disliked the ‘Amigo’ flashing across the screen during the chorus. It was cute at first but then it got annoying. Honestly I think the set designers must have a lot of fun with these performances – they always have seriously far out designs. I really liked the set for this performance though with the fog and the stairs – while I don’t usually like to see the boys walking during a dance performance (taking away precious dance time, people!) the stairs with the lighted letters were really neat. Also I love how while everyone walked down, Taemin stayed at the top and danced. Awesomeness! (See – I can say nice things) It was just really intriguing – all the flashing lights and the darkened set and the charismatic walking down the stairs and the back-up dancers coming out at the bottom and how close everyone was during the rap. Did you notice that Key wasn’t in front with the back-up dancers this time? It was just him and MinHo slightly in front of everyone else. I like how they keep switching up the rap part – it reminds you that not every part of this performance is completely choreographed. So this was a good performance – I recommend it – and I hope you actually check out one or two of my picks up there.

Later!

Maki

5 comments

  1. hmmm…


  2. You made my week 🙂 Thanks so much for your links and detailed write-up, I’ve only previously watched the Madam B’s Salon one but am definitely looking forward to the others especially Key umma cuteness. I’ve always wanted to listen to Epik High, so this might be a good start too.

    Oh and I just watched the boys’ parody of Beethoven Virus! Am not familiar with the characters but I wish I’d had classmates like Minho and JH. Onew is hilariously himself and I couldn’t take my eyes off Key, am really starting to like the way his fringe falls just so.

    And thanks for your suggestion on the blog comment thingy, I’ll check the FAQ and find out ^^


  3. Tvoyasosedka

    Thanks for commenting?

    kuroi_katzchen

    Ah, ILUSM for commenting! You’re totally welcome – I’m glad to help. I was just hoping people would actually check the videos out – let me know what you think of them when you do, okay?

    Well, they’re not exactly playing any EH. Oh, but if you want to check out Epik High, I suggest you start with ‘Love Love Love’, ‘One’ and ‘Umbrella’ (Oosan). I LOVE Epik High – I don’t post much about them but I think their music’s amazing.

    Yes, Key’s hair is quite lovely – it never ceases to impress me. I laughed at the SHInee Virus parody even though I totally didn’t get what was going on. Taemin was cute, Bling looked good and MH and Key were funny though!

    You’re welcome. ^^


  4. […] we can’t stop them. Thankfully most of the videos I linked to in my SHINee sample rec post, Oldies but Goodies were hosted by other people. For now, they’ve got a back-up account called SHINeeSubs02 up […]


  5. so yes of course i couldn’t read ur blog and not leave a comment so here it goes…
    everything stated here is totally true, in my room @ madame B’s was really heavenly, i think the intimate atmosphere had a lot to do w/ that. and yeah about their vocals? they really brung it, flawless perf.
    My cluelessly sweet sunbae onew and his ‘condition’ *sigh* ’tis what it is, and imo that’s what makes him sweet. I think i laughed reaally hard at that 2.
    About lsgo, glad u came around, it’s my fav. on the mini album so it’s impossible 4 me 2 say anything different about the perf. About the crazy man? well u & i both kno’ why i don’t need 2 go into that, right yumi? ^_^
    Minho singing psychedelic forest, what can i say… well remember on our fb wall-2wall i said that i’m screaming rite now but i’m not going 2 tell u why? and u were all like the wg saying tell me, tell me, te-te-te-te-te-tell me? lol, well this is why. nuff said.
    And well yeah u already kno how i feel about AMIGO yumi and for those of you reading this adnd it’s not clear, i completely heart it. *does maknae-Tae’s heart-hand-symbol-thingie*
    now if u noticed i left the key umma thing for last (mmmmm) *clears throat*
    Key: Does taemin want a candy?
    Tae: Yes
    Key: *unwraps candy and feeds it to Tae*
    …emphasis on the wrd “feed”! like he actually put it to Tae’s mouth just for Tae to close his mouth down on it! well if that wasn’t the most adorable thing under the heavens then nothing in this WORLD is eligible to be labelled cute never, ever, AGAIN! lol. anyway so yeah, good job yumi, two thumbs up ^_^



Leave a Reply

