h1

K-pop couplings

October 9, 2008

Okay, so I was trying not to post about about this because I realize that it’s apparently something that’s common to K-pop fandoms and because people are entitled to their opinions and therefore can think whatever they want but this is really bothering me and I have to get it out. You don’t have to agree with me – you probably won’t – but this is just my opinion and since this is a blog, it’s a place to express my opinions and so I think it should be okay for me to put this here.

So…ships are major parts of every fandom. I’ve been around fandom long enough to know that but I’ve always been a part of fiction fandoms – books, anime, etc. and this is really the first time I’ve ever been a part of a real person fandom. Now I did know going in that there was such a thing as ‘real person’ shipping and even ‘real person slash’ – I knew that but I realize now that I didn’t really know to what extent it exists…I mean, it doesn’t just exist, you know, it’s big, it’s rampant – there are couples (fan made/fan desired/fan shipped – whatever you want to call it) in every K-pop fandom that I’ve seen, even in the girl group ones which really surprised me, actually, because well, most of their fans are girls…but that’s beside the point.

Honestly, this is just kind of difficult for me to grasp – I mean, it’s one thing to be all for a couple that exists in real life but it’s another thing entirely to create couples based around your favourite group. I just – I don’t get it – why would you want to do that? I mean, isn’t it weird – shipping real people, writing fanfiction (some with some seriously questionable ratings) about real people? I mean, if you were a celebrity, would you want people doing that to you? I don’t know – it just seems really strange to me and I mean, I guess people can do whatever they want and it’s natural to want two people that you like, who spend a lot of time together, particularly if they’re very affectionate to each other to be together but isn’t writing fanfiction and drawing fanart and photoshopping pictures taking things a little too far? Am I really the only one who thinks so?

I mean, I’m not condemning anyone – I’m not going to tell anyone “Hey, you shouldn’t do that” because 1. they probably wouldn’t listen to me and 2. it’s not my place to do that but it just really bothers me and it seems to be becoming more and more rampant in the SHINee fandom and I just – it’s really turning me off of the fandom in general. I mean, I don’t want to leave – other than that, I really like the fandom, it’s a nice change from anime ones but this is getting really hard to ignore. I mean, I could ignore stuff like this in the Naruto fandom because there were tons of couples and I was used to slash but these are real people and I just don’t understand what’s wrong with them just being friends? I mean, I’m not saying that it’s unlikely or uncommon for two people, regardless of their sex to want to have a relationship like that, you know but I just think that maybe people are reading too much into it or just seeing what they want to see. And I mean I’m pretty sure that they (SHINee or their managers or whoever) know about it – because you cannot tell me that that ‘suck-and-blow’ game in the last M!Countdown was anything other than fanservice but it just – it makes me wonder.

You see the problem I’ve always had with the myriad of slash pairings in any fandom is that I feel like people take a bond of friendship, just like the ones that we all have with other people, and twist it into something it’s usually not – and by doing that, sometimes I think you demean that bond. It’s like you’re saying that friendship’s not enough, that it has to be more than that, like it has to be a romantic relationship to really matter. I’m not saying that everyone thinks that – I’m not saying that some people aren’t just into it for the lulz, I mean, I’ve joked about JongKey too – but for some people, it seems like it really matters, like they really mean it – they want it to happen and they want it to happen now and I don’t know if I can deal with that. And I’m not saying it’s only on the net that it exists – I know that quite a few Korean fans are like that too. I don’t know – like I saw someone say “it’s a fandom – it’s a place for fans to express themselves” and I guess that’s just what this is – a form of expression…

Anyway I don’t know what to do because I’ve tried to avoid it but it isn’t easy, it really seems to be in every place I go – Soompi, LJ, SHINee Forums, Youtube – and I really don’t want to leave the fandom but if I can’t get away from it, I don’t know….

Anyway, like I said, I’m not trying to offend anyone, this is just my opinion – this is how I feel about K-pop couples and you don’t have to agree with me. Hmm, it does feel good to get that out though…it’s been bothering me for awhile so at least, something good came out of this. Kind of. Anyway, I’m going now.

Adios,

Maki.

4 comments

  1. You know what….i kind of agree with you o.0
    I mean, pairings are quite cute and they’re really
    funny sometimes, but the extent to which some fans
    take it is quite disturbing…and I think one of the reasons all these Korean bands are so into doing semi-gay things like hold hands with each other and stuff is simply because fans LOVE that stuff. I’m not saying it’s wrong or anything, but I think fans definitely shouldn’t get TOO into it. Especially since SHINee are so young…all that X-Rated stuff that comes out in fanfics sometimes is just scary.

    Sorry for the rant “^^ Love your blog! ❤


  2. Yeah, some fans just eat that stuff up. (lol, that made me think of BoA.) Anyway, I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way – like I said, they can be cute and funny when you’re joking around but when you start to take it seriously, it’s another thing entirely.

    It’s okay – compared to what I wrote, that can hardly be considered a rant. Thanks for your comment! I’m glad you like my blog!


  3. I’m with you on this one too. I read fanfiction too but draw the line at stuff about real people. Somehow I just… feel guilty towards them reading it.

    And yeah, cutesy cuddly moments make my day (wonder why? cuz it shows the strong bonds and camaraderie that they share? cuz I don’t act that way around my own friends since it’ll be regarded as ‘childish’ and ‘weird’?) but I think I find them extra cute cuz I know it’s just out of mischief. I think you make real sense about how romanticising such bonds demeans the real friendship.

    I wonder how SHINee (and all the other K-pop groups) feel about such fan-made stuff actually. Kinda hope they don’t take it seriously.

    (Another long post!) So now that you know you’re not the only one who feels this way, I hope you don’t leave the fandom anytime soon XD


  4. Oh, well I’m like the baby of my group of fiends (although I’m not really the youngest) so I act really childish all the time but I agree that seeing them act cute and caring towards each other warms my heart because it’s just nice to see them act that way – it affirms the fact that they’re real friends and that they really care about each other. I’m glad you see what I’m saying though. Don’t worry – I couldn’t leave the fandom yet, my boys keep pulling me back.

    I wonder that too…I suppose it’s included in their training, I mean, it’s a pretty prevalent part of the pop culture, I think.

    It’s nice to hear from you, by the way. And it’s super cool that you can speak Chinese. I’ve got my midterm this weekend actually – I’ve got a lot of cramming to do. Honestly I really need help with the pronunciation and I don’t think you could really help me with that but I appreciate the offer. I’ll let you know if I need help with anything.



Leave a Reply

